Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

NAME: GIA VANGIERI
AGE: 27
PLACE: LOS ANGELES
OCCUPATION: DIRECTOR, WRITER, ACTRESS

Briefly, Tell us who you are what you do?
Hi, I’m Gia. I’m a 27 year old filmmaker living in Silver Lake. Since moving to Los Angeles in 2012, I’ve produced an award-winning play (Sewer Rats at Sea, Best of Fringe 2013), directed a music video that premiered on Billboard (Daniella Mason’s “Shade of You”), and created an eight-part web series about how much I still have to figure out titled How to Not, airing on Vessel every Thursday, all winter long. I’m currently in pre-production for my first two feature films, an independent horror (slated to film early 2016) and an independent sci-fi film (slated to film fall of 2016).

What do your mornings look like?
If I don’t immediately connect with the world and get moving, I feel stuck in the mud all day. It’s something I’ve recently learned about myself. My mornings look something like this: Wake up. Coffee and read Slate.com or watch the Daily Show. Listen to indieWire podcast on the walk to Bar Method. Bar Method. Walk home. Shower. Eat. Feed the dogs. Start working.
Alternatively: sleep in forever, let it all burn down.

How do you calm yourself?
“Inhale love. Exhale that which does not serve you.” Over and over.

What are three things you love to do alone?
I am an introvert by nature, so I like to do most things alone. My most favorite things though have to be:

  1. Going to the Atwater farmer’s market
  2. Cooking
  3. Laying naked in completely clean sheets and listening to Throwing Shade – the podcast.

Where do you go to look for inspiration?
Most of the time, it’s the people in the world around me. The friend telling me a story about a text that hasn’t been answered. The fully grown man holding up a tiny, fluffy, marshmallow dog like the scene in the Lion King in front of Dinosaur Coffee in earnest. The budding teen girl in the Turkish airport eyeing my leggings and t-shirt after having fought with her mother that her burka isn’t on right.
Sometimes I go hunt it down myself: Pinterest, Aperture Magazine, Nan Goldin photos, Kubrick films.

What is your guilty pleasure?
I don’t feel guilty about any of my pleasures. They’re definitely not all hip, but I feel bad about none of them.

What do you listen to when you are sad?
Currently:
Rootless Tree – Damien Rice
Cavalier – James Vincent McMorrow
A Case of You – Joni Mitchell
Among the Leaves – Sun Kil Moon
Basic Instinct – The Acid
Stay – Rihanna

What do you listen to when you are happy?
Currently:
G.O.M.D – J. Cole
Divisionary (Do The Right Thing) – Ages and Ages
Cowboy Guilt – Torres
Where is My Mind? – The Pixies
One Million Lovers – The Growlers

Can’t leave the house without…
My license.

FLASH QUESTIONS (One answer even if you have a thousand!):
 
Favorite book?
The Stranger by Albert Camus

Movie?
The Shining

TV show?
Fargo – Season 2

Place to shop?
Bucks and Does.

Place to drink coffee?
Sitting on top of the heating vent in my hallway

First concert?
Destiny’s Child opening for Christina Aguilera

Last concert you went too?
Solange’s dance party at Tenants of the Trees. She sang. I am still tingling.

What’s the one word/phrase you are guilty of using too much?
“just”… I’m just checking in… I’m just emailing to see… I just [am trying to seem more likable and less annoying]. I need to stop.

Shower song?
True Affection – The Blow

What does the last text in your phone say?
“Expedia loves me because I use them so much.”

Favorite quote?
“Make it personal, tell the truth, then write ‘burn this’ on it.” – Lanford Wilson

And tell us one thing you think we should be getting into (a book, blog, web series, song, etc.?)
vessel.com/howtonot which is my open love letter (in the form of a web series) to the late-night-snacking insomniac who is feeling like no one gets it. (We do!)

You can find more of Gia here: How to Not  and Instagram

Image of Gia by Anna Demarco.