NAME: ANNA GREY
AGE: 17
PLACE: LOS ANGELES
OCCUPATION: ACTRESS
 
Briefly, Tell us who you are what you do?
My name is Anna Grey. I am a young, dedicated, and driven actor. I have recently relocated to Los Angeles to better pursue a career in film. I have theatrical representation in the city.

I have had wonderful opportunities to travel for the shooting of three short films, two feature-length films, and the Jury Winner for the Adrenaline Film Project, a section of the Virginia Film Festival. I recently wrote, directed, and starred in my own short film. It details the frequently unobserved symptoms of OCD-Driven-Disorders. It is a story that needs to be told.

I am a fluent German speaker, an alto singer, a trained dancer, a passionate animal advocate, and an environmental preservation enthusiast.

What do your mornings look like?
I wake-up at 7. I eat breakfast, which usually consists of Cinnamon Life or Apples and Cinnamon Oatmeal. (Breakfast is my favorite meal. I can eat breakfast food around the clock.) I give my dogs food, fresh water, and hugs. I practice yoga for 45 minutes to awaken my spirit. I actively seek out new artistic endeavors to fight for.

How do you calm yourself?
I have recently discovered the soothing and awakening powers of yoga. Yoga connects me with the universe reflected in my own being. It allows me to find harmony in and with the natural world. It helps me to recognize that frustrating times and saddening/angering occurrences are not mistakes or punishments, but rather the soul being redirected towards it’s true and authentic path. It reinvigorates my sense of compassion and my strong drive to be an artistic and philanthropic creator and contributor of the world.

What’s your favorite medium for writing?
I write constantly and about everything. Handwriting is my preferred method. I write in a spiral-bound notebook. I feel as if my mind, body, and soul are more in tune with the flow of ideas and language when I handwrite. My mind is awakened to new possibilities and new thoughts.

What are three things you love to do alone?
I am a very independent person, so I enjoy being by myself. During these times of solitude, I love creating and delving into characters. Exploring different perspectives is my great passion. I love to choreograph modern dance pieces that explore the full range of human emotion, connection, and movement. I love to research animal welfare initiatives and keep myself updated on the great injustices plaguing the natural world, so that I can better speak out against them and aid preservation groups in their pursuits.

Where do you go to look for inspiration?
Learning the stories of the great artists to come before me inspires me deeply. Global humanitarian efforts remind me that good people are abundant and are a force to be reckoned with.
I remind myself of this quote on a daily basis:
‘We live on a blue planet that circles a ball of fire next to a moon that controls the movement of the sea. Miracles and magic exist.’

What is your guilty pleasure?
Chicago-style-popcorn and ABBA

What do you listen to when you are sad?
Fire and Rain – James Taylor
The End of the Innocence – Don Henley
Rewind – Paolo Nutini
Samson – Regina Spektor

What do you listen to when you are happy?
I’m Alive/The Sound of the Sunshine – Michael Franti
Everyday – Dave Matthews Band
Hey Ya! – OutKast
Somewhere Over the Rainbow/What a Wonderful World – Iz Kamakawiwo’ole

Can’t leave the house without…
A notebook and Sharpie.

Favorite book?
To Kill a Mockingbird/Pride and Prejudice

Movie?
As a dedicated actor, film inspires me, teaches me, and intrigues me. I must list a few pictures in this category: Kill Bill, It’s a Wonderful Life, Stand By Me, Boyhood, On The Waterfront, Philomena, The Railway Man, and oh so many more.

TV show?
Criminal Minds/I Love Lucy

Place to shop?
Brandy Melville

Place to drink coffee?
Bricks and Scones – family-run coffee shop in LA.

First concert?
Jesse McCartney – Beautiful Soul Tour – 6-Years-Old

Last concert you went too?
Michael Franti – grooviest human and musician around.

Whats the one word/phrase you are guilty of using too much?
infinite love.

Whats the last Google search on your iPhone?
‘Canadian seal hunt’ – research on a horrific, inhumane, and unnecessary annual hunt that I am part of the campaign to end.

Shower song?
In Your Eyes – Peter Gabriel

What does the last text in your phone say?
to my younger sister – ‘you’re a bad mamma-jamma.’

Favorite quote?
‘in the depth of winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer.’ -Albert Camus

And tell us one thing you think we should be getting into (a book, blog, web series, song, etc.?)
Vessels of Four Letter Words – a film detailing the frequently unobserved symptoms of OCD-Driven-Disorders. – https://youtu.be/yB05p31LL4A

My Own Private Idaho – a groundbreaking and poignant film.

Venus and the Moon – the genius music stylings of Rain Joan of Arc Phoenix and Frallya.

stylelikeu on YouTube – innovative and inspiring women seeking to encourage healthy body image and redefine beauty standards.

You can find more of Anna here: Instagram | Twitter | IMDB | Vessels of Four Letter Words | Alaska Young Monologue